“I’m busy, so I’m better?”

toobusy

Our blessings come in BEING, not doing. Being the sons and daughters of The Most High God! This world has given us a false sense of security and pride in how much we do and get done in each day. It seems the earlier we rise and the more things we get done the more we feel accomplished. There seems to be a contest of who is the busiest and who gets up the earliest.

Well, I’m here to tell you that God can get more done through our prayers than we can get done in filling up every second with our own works. A life led by the Holy Spirit is a life full of quality not quantity. Of course there is nothing wrong with getting up early and getting things done, The real question is what are we doing and why are we doing it?

busy textbusy-is-a-drug

Psalm 127
English Standard Version (ESV)
Unless the Lord Builds the House

A Song of Ascents. Of Solomon.

127 Unless the Lord builds the house,
those who build it labor in vain.
Unless the Lord watches over the city,
the watchman stays awake in vain.
2 It is in vain that you rise up early
and go late to rest,
eating the bread of anxious toil;
for he gives to his beloved sleep.

We must check our motives and ask ourselves why are we doing what we are doing?
Are we spending enough time with God?

busy

Are we truly being led by the Holy Spirit or are we making up our own course and asking God to co-sign?
Psalm 84:10-12
New King James Version (NKJV)
10 For a day in Your courts is better than a thousand.
I would rather be a doorkeeper in the house of my God
Than dwell in the tents of wickedness.
11 For the Lord God is a sun and shield;
The Lord will give grace and glory;
No good thing will He withhold
From those who walk uprightly.
12 O Lord of hosts,
Blessed is the man who trusts in You!

We need to ask ourselves, “Am I busy because I need to be or am I just filling up my time with frivolous works to escape the reflection in the mirror?

Keeping-busy

Do I truly trust God with my past, present, and future?

Therefore, let us stop puffing ourselves up with pride about how early we rise and how much we get done. If what we are doing, does not meet any of God’s goals in our lives, we are really missing the mark.  Take inventory and prioritize this New Year.  “If we keep doing what we’ve always done, we’ll keep getting what we’ve always gotten.”  Time is that rare commodity that we cannot get back.   Do not worry, it’s okay to do  nothing and enjoy the moment.  Life is made up of moments, not hours, days, or weeks.  It’s the moments that we’ll remember the most, when it’s all said and done.  Decide to make a change this New Year and enjoy a more peaceful and better life.♥

glorification-of-busy

2 thoughts on ““I’m busy, so I’m better?”

  1. A phrase I picked up from a non-christian teaching a while back is, “Inspired Action”. I have come to embrace this term in referring to what your post seems to talking about. For me, Inspired Action is the act of engaging whole-heartedly in the endeavors you feel led to… in what you feel God has put in front of you.

    For me, I never feel I really “know” that I am in God’s exact will on a particular task or endeavor, but I do consistently feel a sense of being led that is becoming clearer and clearer. This to me is the zone of inspired action. And when I feel it, I feel confident in diving in enthusiastically and dare I say even busily. But not obsessively and not frantically.

    Because I trust and believe…. and increasingly feel a confirming sense that I am in his will… so what possibly could me adding all of my frantic energies add to the task? If I am in God’s will and am engaging the talents he blessed me with at a pace and intensity that is reasonable, I know the job will get done. In fact, the outcome I feel is not even so much the point anymore. It is the act of serving. And if I do this well, the outcome cant help but be good.

Leave a Reply

