“a better me equals a better you”

592206_120792878000202_1237244102_n

Or, you could even say, a better you equals a better me.  The idea is that we are all interdependent upon one another.  No man is an island.  Although, this particular saying is not in scripture, it captures the tone of community from scripture.  The body of Christ, we are called.

Ephesians 4:16

English Standard Version (ESV)

16 (A)from whom the whole body, joined and held together by every joint with which it is equipped, (B)when each part is working properly, makes the body grow so that it builds itself up in love.

The bottom line is we need one another, even when we think we do not.  What plagues one, given enough time, can and often does plague many.  We can only give out, show, or communicate what we have within ourselves.  Therefore, if I have mostly ignorance, fear, and hate, that is what I will show and communicate to others.  Although, if I have love, peace, joy, and wisdom, that is what I will show and communicate.  Ignorance is just as contagious as knowledge and wisdom.  Also, the last thing desired is to get a bunch of ignorant people together to validate one another, Lord help us…

I say all this to say that, when I take the time to better myself, to learn, to grow, to understand…  I am helping my community around me; because then, the better me will spill out to others.  I have a responsibility to share what has freed me, opened my eyes and made me whole.  It is a fundamental principle of Christ fueled by The Holy Spirit Himself, one can only give what one has.  Christ gave what He had; His love, His servant-hood to mankind, His wisdom, The Father, and ultimately His Life.  He walked the earth giving all that He is and it makes the world better.   He charges us to do the same; to know Him, become better, and make the world better; that men might be saved.  Therefore, let the love of Christ shine brightly within you, that others may see His glory in the earth.   That is why I pray by the grace of God and examine myself before Him with His Holy Spirit, God help me be more like you.  A better me equals a better you, a better you equals a better me♥

2 Corinthians 1:3-4

English Standard Version (ESV)

God of All Comfort

3 (A)Blessed be the (B)God and Father of our Lord Jesus Christ, the Father of mercies and (C)God of all comfort, 4 (D)who comforts us in all our affliction, so that we may be able to comfort those who are in any affliction, with the comfort with which we ourselves are comforted by God.

One thought on ““a better me equals a better you”

Leave a Reply

